September 18, 2020

Hahn Taps Local Leaders to Guide Reopening and Recovery of the LA County Economy

Posted by May 19, 2020 6:40 PM

Hahn Taps Local Leaders to Guide Reopening and Recovery of the LA County Economy

San Pedro, CA — Los Angeles County Supervisor Janice Hahn has appointed 39 local business and cultural leaders to the LA County Economic Resiliency Task Force so that they can use their experience and expertise to guide LA County’s safe reopening amid the COVID-19 pandemic.

The task force includes 13 representatives from different sectors of LA County’s economy. Each one of those 13 task force members will chair working groups focused on reopening and revitalizing their specific sector or industry. Supervisor Hahn requested that Commodities and Goods Movement be represented on the task force. Her appointee, Mario Cordero, the Executive Director of the Port of Long Beach, will represent this sector on the task force as well as chair the Commodities and Goods Movement working group. During the second meeting of the task force, County leaders discussed a goal of more fully reopening the LA County economy by July 4th.

“The longer we stay closed in certain sectors, particularly small businesses and restaurants, the odds are that they will not be able to come back,” said Supervisor Janice Hahn. “I feel that we have to get to the point that we learn to live with the virus. We cannot stay locked down forever. My hope is that this task force will bring forth real plans for reopening these sectors that our Department of Public Health can agree on and present to the governor.”

Supervisor Janice Hahn’s appointees to the LA County Economic Resiliency Task Force and working groups include:


Arts and Culture Sector

  • Lori Bettison-Varga – Natural History Museum
  • Eric Eisenberg – LA County Arts Commission
  • Adrienne Nakashima – South Coast Botanic Garden

Business—Corporate and Manufacturing

  • Joe Ahn – Northrop Grumman Corp.
  • Randy Bowers – Malaga Bank
  • Banyon Huetter – Caruso

Business- Small

  • Adam Carillo – ETA Agency
  • Donna Duperron – Torrance Chamber of Commerce
  • Anna Wu – Wu and Associates
  • Elise Swanson – San Pedro Chamber of Commerce
  • Heidi Butzine – Lomita Chamber of Commerce

Commodities and Goods Movement

  • Mario Cordero* – Chair, Port of Long Beach
  • Diane Middleton – LA Harbor Commission
  • Patrick Wilson – Fastlane Transportation


  • Lou Anne Bynum – Long Beach City College
  • Judy Chen – Mt. San Antonio
  • Jim Gash – Pepperdine
  • Dr. Barry Corey – Biola University

Faith Based Organizations

  • Revered Ed Dover – Pastor, Beatitudes of Our Lord Catholic Church
  • Archbishop Jose Gomez – Archdiocese of Los Angeles
  • Alex Wu – Hsi Lai Temple
  • Yossi Mintz – Chabad of the Beach Cities

Film, Entertainment and Digital Media

  • Thomas Davis – California Film Commission Local 80
  • Mark Hubbard – Hubbard Accountancy Crop
  • Arlen Valdvia – State Government Affairs MPAA

Foundations and Non-Profits

  • Gloria Cordero – Community Leader

Healthcare and Bio-science

  • Craig Leach – Torrance Memorial Medical Center 
  • Anne Lemeir – Providence Little Company of Mary
  • Matthew Sandoval – Lakewood Regional Medical Center

Infrastructure Development and Construction

  • Robert Ferrante – LA County Sanitation District
  • Elvin Moon – Regional Planning Commission
  • Matt Petersen – LA Cleantech Incubator


  • Dan Langford – Southwest Regional Council of Carpenters
  • Vivian Malauulu – ILWU
  • Rick Vasquez – Sprinkler Fitters UA 709

Restaurants, Leisure and Hospitality

  • Jim Luttojohann – Catalina Island Chamber of Commerce
  • Janet Zaldua – Marina Del Rey Convention and Visitors Bureau

Sports and Large Venue Entertainment

  • Kelly Cheeseman – AEG Sports LA Kings/Galaxy
  • Kathy Schlossman – LA Sports and Entertainment Commission
  • Suzy Schuster – LA Memorial Coliseum


Do you live in the 4th District?

Skip to content